Rad Reading-February

In the month of February I read The Trojan War by Olivia Coolidge. This book is a combination of different Greek myths organized in a way so you have a timeline of the normally confused Trojan War. From the golden apple that inherently started it all, tragic love stories, Achilles and his downfall, all the way to the end with the fall of Troy. I liked this book because I like Greek myths, and this one is not only a collection of many of them but also a story. If you like Greek myths, want to get into them, or are into the Trojan War, I strongly recommend this book. My favorite character is Achilles. One of his Character traits is brave. The quote that proves this is “On the tenth day Achilles summoned the folk to assembly because Agamemnon would not.” This is brave because the leader in the current situation is King Agamemnon, and no other lesser chief dared to do something against his wishes. My favorite quote from the book is “She had dreamed that the son she hoped to bear was no child, but a flaming torch.”(Pg 6) This is my favorite quote because I find it kind of funny someone dreamed of birthing a torch of all things.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *